What Poland feels like

Before I set off on a mission to conquer Europe and the rest of the world, let me say a couple of words about Poland itself first.

I was raised in a small village in the southeastern Poland, I travelled around the country every once in a while, I’ve seen most of the important places in the south, not so much in the north, and around 4 years ago I decided to move to Krakow, which seemed to be the best choice for me (and still is). From the very first day I was looking forward to getting to know every square kilometer of this city, there was just something special about it. Today I have the same feeling, about the whole world though, but let’s leave it for later. I believe Krakow is one of the most representative places of Poland, especially as it used to be it’s capital a long long time ago, that’s why I’m going to focus on it today. I can’t say I succeeded in getting to know it entirely, but still, I’ve seen a lot.

For those who haven’t been here before, the user manual is quite simple. We have two must-sees: the Market Square and the Wawel Royal Castle (yes, I’m going to use ‘here’ and ‘we’ everytime I talk about Krakow, get used to it). You can’t leave this city without having visited these two. They’re not far from each other and lie on the opposite sides of Grodzka street, walking along which is amazing itself. You can hear people talking in a hundred different languages, listen to guitar or violin street players, admire old tenement houses and monuments, take a horse-drawn carriage ride or just watch others dancing, singing and enjoying every moment. All that makes a specific atmosphere all around, which is definitely worth experiencing. Of course the whole Old Town is filled with similar streets and places, like Florianska street, Barbican or the Church of Saints Peter and Paul, but I can assure you that’s literally (and not only) a tip of the iceberg. Literally, because there’s a vast underground web of tunnels and dark corridors where, as they say, a descendant of the legendary dragon hides and lives on. And there’s the Historical Museum of the City of Krakow underneath the Main Square, also recommended. On the other hand, that’s only one district. Combined with Kazimierz and Boulevard of Vistula River right next to it, it’s probably the most interesting part, but I can think of at least half a dozen where I feel more comfortable in. However, before that, take a quick look at what I’ve just described. And stay tuned.

What Poland feels like (part II) ->

One response to “What Poland feels like

  1. Pingback: What Poland feels like (part II) | Meet Your Planet·

Leave a Reply

